Challah! It’s one year on the 3rd floor!

I’m such a dork that whenever I say challah I have to say it like this: “Holla!”. I think it aggravates people (Doug), but I laugh every time.

Today is one year of Doug and me living in our 3rd floor apartment. On our first night here a co-worker of his dropped off two loaves of challah from a local bakery. I fell in love with the bread right there.

To celebrate a year in the apartment Doug made a challah using one of Martha Stewart’s recipes. There is no link online, but BrownEyedBaker has Martha’s recipe on her blog.

Now let’s look at the inside.

The inside is tender and flaky. It’s not buttery at all, but simply melts in your mouth.

Hence why we only have this much left.

This recipe calls for 8 egg yolks, so there will be many whites left over. For that reason we had a frittata for dinner. I think a frittata looks sophisticated, but to me it’s the lazy man’s omelet.

For the frittata I used 2 whole eggs and 4 egg whites. Whisk them together with 1/2 tablespoon cream. Add salt and pepper to taste and cook over med-low heat until eggs just start to set. Throw in some chives, add a few teaspoons of cream cheese (goat cheese if you want to be fancy), and some shredded parm and mozz on top and place it under the broiler until it’s poofy and golden brown, about 2 minutes. Voila! You are a gourmet chef.

Now, I only used four egg whites last night that means I have four left over. So today I think I’ll make a few meringue cookies with the rest of the whites. There is also some pickling and pumpkin ice cream making on the agenda. So much to do!

This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Challah! It’s one year on the 3rd floor!

  1. I love that challah recipe! Save some of those leftovers for French toast! :)

  2. Pingback: Another Challah-day! | 3rdfloorbakes's Blog

Leave a Reply

