My peaches are in a jam

This day has been super duper boring. Well, other than half marathon training, it was quite uneventful.

Good thing I have lots of peaches to do fun stuff.

I scoured through all of my Martha Stewart cookbooks and magazines for a recipe that would be a good use of peaches, and one where I wouldn’t feel obligated to eat 24 cookies or a whole coffee cake.

The perfect solution: jam.

I’ve been teetering with the thought of making jam as shown here, but I never brought myself to making it. Berries and honey seems really expensive, so I feel like I have to convince myself that it’s a good idea to experiment with making jams and jellies.

I found what looked like a simple jam recipe from Martha Stewart.

Here’s hoping it’s good!

Ingredients:

3 1/2 lbs. ripe peaches, peeled, halved, pitted and cut into chunks
1 1/4 lbs. sugar (scant 3 cups)
1 tblsp plus 1 tsp fresh lemon juice
pinch of salt

Directions:

To peel peaches boil a large pot of water, enough to cover peaches. Cut an ‘X’ on both tops and bottoms of peaches.

Carefully place peaches in water for 10-30 seconds. Then, peel off skins.

If peaches are not fully ripe the skins will still be difficult to peel. At this point you can simply peel it with a vegetable peeler. Don’t even try a vegetable peeler without blanching them or you will get frustrated.

Now is the time to cut up the peaches.

Working in batches, pulse peaches in a food processor until chunky.

Transfer to a small saucepan, and add sugar, lemon juice, and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Bring to a boil, stirring frequently.

Boil, continuing to stir, until bubbles slow, foam subsides, fruit rises to the top, and jam sticks to a spoon when lifted, about 12 minutes. Let cool. Refrigerate until completely cooled.

Let cool. Refrigerate until completely cooled. Jar according to proper technique.

Things I did differently:

I didn’t use the food processor. I decided to go old-fashioned and use a potato masher to mash up the fruit. It worked well.

I added some honey and less sugar. I like honey. I used it.

The results:

Well, the “jam” seems more like a peach topping for ice cream. I don’t think I let it cook enough, or the honey threw off the jellifying process.

I may just use it as a topping for my morning yogurt.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

