Rainy Days Never Let Me Down

There’s never a better excuse to bake than a rainy day.  I usually feel bad to bake on a warm day because I should be outside enjoying the sunshine.  I’ve been secretly anticipating showers just so I could have a more legitimate excuse to bake.

Doug and I will be selling some of our baked goods at a Farm Day on September 19th, so I’ve been testing some cookie recipes.  Today’s recipe was Snickerdoodles.

I had never had a Snickerdoodle until about five years ago when someone brought a batch into work.  I liked them, but I certainly didn’t love them.  The cookie had fallen off my radar until recently Doug mentioned that he loved them.

These little confections are rolled in cinnamon sugar before baking so I figured they would be a perfect fall treat to sell at the farm day.

I used a recipe from Martha Stewart’s Cookies cookbook.

Snickerdoodles

2 3/4 Cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 1/2 cups plus 2 tablespoons sugar

2 large eggs, room temperature

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

directions:

1. Preaheat oven to 350.  Sift flour, baking powder, and salt into a bowl.

Cream 2 sticks of butter until fluffy.

Put butter and 1 1/2 cups sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer.  Mix on medium speed until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes.

Mix in eggs.

Gradually mix in flour mixture.

Stir together cinnamon and remaining 2 tablespoons sugar in a small bowl.

Shape dough into twenty 1 3/4 inch balls; roll in cinnamon sugar.

Space 3 inches apart on greased or lined baking sheet.

Bake cookies, rotating sheets halfway through, until edges are golden, 12 to 15 minutes.

Let cool on sheets on wire racks.

Cookies will last stored in an air-tight container for up to three days.

My encounters:

I never know what 1 3/4 inch balls look like.  I just go with the size I like.

My cookies didn’t spread flat on their own, so my first batch turned out to be snickerdoodle cookie balls.  These were actually quite a hit.

The back of a spoon works well to flatten cookies.

Remember not to overbake.  Overbaked cookies are never good cookies.

These cookies will not last 3 days– you will eat them.  You will love them.

Make them.

This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rainy Days Never Let Me Down

  1. Christina says:

    I love snickerdoodles!! These look super yummy!!

Leave a Reply

