12 Days of Cookies Project

This year I have expanded my cookie recipe box with many new challenges. I broke free from my chocolate chip comfort zone and moved into more complex flavors and textures. Shortbread, snickerdoodles, ginger, and apple all found themselves in recipes. Some were challenging and others surprisingly simple. The challenge now is to find the perfect mix of cookies for Christmas. To help, I’ve enlisted my 12 Days of Cookies Project where I’ll post some of my recent bakes and decide which ones should be kept for the season and which will be cut from the lineup.

My pursuit began yesterday with gingersnap cookies. They were supposed to be sandwich cookies with raspberry jam or chocolate ganache, but they are a perfect cookie on their own.

Don’t let the name fool you. These cookies do not snap. In fact, they have a thin coating of sugar that breaks into a chewy center. I would distinguish this version a close cousin of the snickerdoodle. They have a sugar cookie quality, but offer a more interesting flavor with the addition of ground ginger. I’ll definitely give these cookies a place on my cookie platter this year.

Recipe courtesy:
Martha Stewart Cookies

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 12 Days of Cookies Project

  1. Cheryl says:

    You know my address, right? So you can send cookies? kthxbye

  2. carrie whiteman says:

    you make me drool….

Leave a Reply

