9th Day of Cookies: Snickerdoodle

I had never heard of a snickerdoodle until about four years ago when I was working a desk job. One of my co-workers brought in their famous cookie, and I was delighted to try it. The cookie didn’t spark my interest really, but it was good. Fast forward to this past August when I was trying to decide what cookies to bake for the Tattersall Farm Day where we were going to sell our baked goods. I made these because they had cinnamon and evoked the upcoming autumn season. This time, I was hooked.

Just like August when I was racking my brain for the perfect cookies to sell, I have been trying to decide what cookies to make for Christmas. Instead of more traditional sugar cookies, I decided that snickerdoodles are a great holiday cookie. Snickerdoodles are easy to make, don’t require rolling, and are pretty.

I adapted Martha Stewart’s Snickerdoodle recipe by exchanging one stick of butter for 1/2 cup of shortening. I can’t tell the difference, so let’s say it’s a success.

Snickerdoodles:

2 3/4 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
1/2 cup vegetable shortening
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 large eggs
2 tsp ground cinnamon and 2 tablespoons sugar (for coating)

1. Preheat oven to 350*. Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt; set aside. Beat butter, shortening and sugar until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Mix in eggs, one at a time. On low speed, gradually add flour mixture.

2. Stir cinnamon and 2 tablespoons sugar in small bowl. Shape dough into 1 3/4-inch balls; roll in cinnamon sugar. Space 2 inches apart on parchment lined baking sheets.

3. Bake cookies, rotating sheets halfway through, until edges are golden. About 12-15 minutes. Cook on wire racks and store in airtight container up to 3 days.

Adapted from Martha Stewart Cookies book (different from online recipe)

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

