Cookie For Your Thoughts

Most people make a New Year’s Resolution to exercise more, eat less, budget, quit smoking, or break some other bad habit. Mine was to do yoga more. Let’s check that in the haven’t done it yet box.

However, I also have a wedding coming up and want a trim tummy, to negate the love handles, and upper arms that don’t jiggle when I lift them. This week I kind of worked on that. I nixed the candy (and boy do we have a lot of it), just said no to dessert, and eased up on the amount of sugar added to my coffee.

I’ve heard that most of weight loss is diet, so I’m really trying to work on that. However, the whole working out thing is a struggle for me too. I mean, I go to the gym, do my Jackie Warner circuit training, but I don’t feel buff. And I want to feel buff in like, four weeks due to dress fittings.

So I did well this week and treated myself to a hot chocolate at night, but I can’t forgo dessert forever. So last night I gave in, and made some delicious chocolate peanut butter chip cookies. The batter was. Outstanding. And I can eat batter and not get sick because I’ve done it forever.

The cookies were. Amazing. I recommend these whole heartedly if you have a hankering for chocolate.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies
adapted from: Joy of Baking

10 ounces semi sweet-chocolate, chopped (or 1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips)

1 2/3 cup all purpose flour

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (not Dutch processed)

1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

1/2 cup dark brown sugar

1/2 cup white granulated sugar

2 large eggs

1 1/4 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

3/4 cup peanut butter chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and place one oven rack in the top third of the oven, and one oven rack in the bottom third of the oven. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

Melt the 10 ounces of semi sweet chocolate in a stainless steel bowl placed over a saucepan of simmering water. (You can microwave chocolate as well for about 2 minutes, just be sure to watch it carefully so it doesn’t burn. In fact, remove from microwave before all chips are melted and stir until chocolate is smooth.) Remove from heat and set aside to cool to room temperature.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt.

In the bowl of your electric mixer (or with a hand mixer), beat the butter and sugars until light and fluffy (2-3 minutes). Scrape down the sides of the bowl. Add the melted chocolate and beat until well incorporated. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Then beat in the vanilla extract. Add the flour in stages, mixing until incorporated. Fold in the the chocolate chips and nuts.

Form dough into balls, using 1/4 cup for each cookie. Place six balls of dough on each baking sheet. With moistened hands, gently flatten each ball of dough into a 2 inch diameter cookie. Bake the cookies for about 14 – 17 minutes, rotating the baking sheets halfway through the baking time. The cookies are done when they are just barely set in the center. They should still be soft. Remove from oven and let the cookies cool a few minutes on the baking sheet before transferring them to a wire rack to cool.

Makes about 20 cookies.

Tips:

chocolate chunks or white chocolate would be delicious too
let cookies cool on pan to complete cooking
hide these or they will go quickly

I can’t decide if I like the large ones or small ones better.

I had a helper when taking pictures today.

Who captured Mouse-a-roni?

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

