Herb Frittata for Two

Whenever I want a quick meal I go right to a frittata. This has been one of my saviors in the kitchen. After becoming frustrated with omelets I found this recipe for potato and onion frittata in my Everyday Food: Great Food Fast cookbook. Since making my first fritata, I think I have made at least two a month. They are so versatile and easy. I think anybody can do it.

This recipe is what I make for just me and Doug. I generally use two eggs per person. There are recipes that use five eggs along with five egg whites to serve four people. I just hate wasting egg yolks, so I use two per person. The frittata may not be as fluffy as it should be, but it is dang good.

Herb Frittata

4 large eggs
1 tablespoon cream (1/2 and 1/2)
1/4 cup shredded cheese (I used fontina for this frittata, but any cheese will do)
1/8 cup cream cheese
2 tablespoons fresh, chopped herbs (parsley, dill, cilantro, thyme)
1 scallion
1/2 tablespoon canola oil
salt and pepper to season (1/4 tsp pepper, 1/2 tsp salt)

Preheat broiler to high with rack in middle placement. Using a small skillet, heat 1/2 tablespoon oil over low heat. In a medium bowl, whisk eggs, salt and pepper. Add to skillet. Cook on stove, over low heat, lifting mixture a few times around the edges with a spatula to let egg flow underneath. Continue cooking until frittata is almost set in center, about 10 minutes. Add herbs about halfway through. Add rounded teaspoons of cream cheese then sprinkle with shredded cheese before placing under broiler. Place skillet under broiler; broil until frittata is set and top is lightly golden, about 3 minutes. Run a clean spatula around edges to loosen, then slide frittata out onto a serving plate, and cut into wedges.

There are some great frittata recipes on Martha Stewart’s website. Serve with fresh bread, a small salad, or roasted vegetables. It’s an excellent week night dinner.

This entry was posted in Healthy Living, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Herb Frittata for Two

  1. Cheryl says:

    I should try making frittatas. I think they would work great for my diet… Think it would work without the dairy?

  2. Mackenzie says:

    Are you not eating dairy because of the lactose? Or because of dieting?

    If it is because of the lactose, Cabot cheeses and goat cheese don’t have lactose. Plus, you could use lactose-free milk.

    • Cheryl says:

      Because of… both! So, I’m not eating dairy at all right now. Maybe in small amounts in the future. Maybe.
      Amy seems quite drawn to the sleeveless bridesmaids dresses!

      • I love dairy. Greek yogurt. Ice cream. Cottage cheese. Cream in my coffee. Then there’s chocolate. I love it. I’m healthy, I eat it.

      • Mackenzie says:

        To the sleeveless dresses, I know. Hey, Ame, I don’t know if I can wear a strapless dress for a reason I think that you can figure out. Ha 🙂

  3. I was just offering suggestions. You guys can choose whatever.

Leave a Reply

