LMNOPotluck Continues

The potluck has reached its seventeenth month. Meg, Doug, Tina and I have been creating recipes, sharing good food, and eating great meals for nearly a year and a half now. Though lmnopotluck‘s blog is no longer being updated, the recipes can still live on. Meg came up with a great idea for the lmnopotluck facebook page. Hopefully that will be up and running soon.

It’s funny how so often we will unexpectedly come up with a theme for potluck. Doug and I obviously plan together, but I came up with the mixed grain salad and he with the mayo and chickpea burgers without realizing how well they’d go together. I guess sometimes we all just get into synch.

Tonight we had mixed grain salad, homemade mayonnaise with chickpea burgers and vegan carrot muffins with non-vegan cream cheese frosting. Everything tasted great. I think the mayonnaise was the standout for me though. It was tangy, fluffy, and fresh. There can be no comparison with store bought mayo.

And I don’t think I’ve ever had anything intentionally vegan, so the muffin was a nice change of pace.

The recipe for the mixed grain salad came from Everyday Food magazine, Jan. 2011 issue. However, I left that at my mom’s house. So I gave it a whirl. This recipe is all my own.

Mixed Grain Salad

This is a great way to experiment with grains you’ve never tried before. I used millet, quinoa, brown rice and bulgur. Also, use whatever fresh herbs you enjoy. I love parsley and garlic so I used those. I also had dill on hand so I used a small amount of that.

2 cups cooked grain (couscous, quinoa, brown rice, millet, barley, bulgur)
1/4 cup parsley , fresh, chopped (can also use cilantro)
2 tablespoons dill, freshly chopped
4 scallions, chopped
1 lemon, seeded and squeezed into small dish
4 tablespoons olive oil
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
salt and pepper to taste

Cook grains according to package. Mix warmed grains with parsley, scallions, dill, olive oil, garlic, lemon. Mix until well combine. Add salt and pepper to taste. Serve warm or chilled.

This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Healthy Living, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LMNOPotluck Continues

  1. Seth says:

    How about a recipe for the burgers and mayo!! 🙂 pleeeease!! I love the salad idea, but there is only one salad for me… MN salad!!

Leave a Reply

