Tropical Bread

Yesterday was “use up what’s in the freezer” day. I had three baggies of frozen bananas, a bag of mango chunks, strawberries, streusel topping, gnocchi, and soup. Only two items were used, and I think the rest will be seeing the inside of the garbage truck on Tuesday.

I needed to bake something yesterday because school was cancelled, again, and I was getting antsy. I didn’t want to bake cookies because I’m pretty sure I’ll be having cake on Sunday. A somewhat healthy banana bread was on the horizon.

This time I wanted something different. I’ve made dozens of banana breads. Some with nuts, chocolate chunks, coconut. This time I’d get a little wild. This time I added mango, coconut, and oats. Sound great? Well, it turned out not too shabby.

Tropical Bread

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 cup mashed bananas (3 small, ripe bananas)
1 cup mashed mango chunks
1/4 cup canola oil
1/4 cup sliced almonds
1/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes (or sweetened if that’s what you have)
1 egg
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a bread pan. Toast almonds and coconut in a skillet over medium high heat stirring the whole time until lightly toasted. Set aside. In a medium bowl whisk flours, oats, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Add fruits, oil, and egg until just combined. Add almonds and coconut. Mix until just combined, but do not overmix. Pour batter into pan. Bake for 55-65 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Healthy Living, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

