Soup’s Back On!

Lately I’ve been trying to quit too much chocolate, extra sugar, cheese, and other unnecessary snacks. I’ve been pretty good with cutting out the sweets. I know that when I start it’s usually a downhill battle, with me at the bottom. I’ve nearly forgotten about the malt balls in the cupboard (which reminds me). The lunchtime sweet-tooth has been tamed fairly well. And my only vice is sugar in my coffee and the hot chocolate for dessert.

Easing up for the weekend does my mind some good as well. I had a banana bread beer, a cranberry oatmeal cookie and two cupcakes this weekend. Along with an insane amount of cheese, garlic Triscuits (which taste like Cool Ranch Doritos), and the best pizza Doug’s ever made. I’m not beating myself up because good eating habits come with moderation, not stressing, and eating pizza and cupcakes at a birthday party.

However, it’s time to get back on the wagon. Dress fittings are on the way and toned arms don’t come with a side of frosting.

So tonight Doug and I had “Creamless Creamy Tomato Soup” from America’s Test Kitchen Healthy Family Cookbook. It seems like we were making soups nonstop and then BAM! It was over. Well, soup found it’s way back to the menu.

I changed some things up simply because I used what we had on hand, but this is probably the best tomato soup I’ve ever eaten. It was creamy (minus the dairy). It was thick (but not too thick). It was tart and sweet and savory. It was amazing. It took twenty minutes to make. So if you have some time, then make this.

Creamy Tomato Soup– Minus the Cream

Serves 6 to 8

1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1 onion, chopped
pinch red pepper flakes (optional)
2 (28-ounce) cans peeled ground tomatoes
1 tablespoon brown sugar
3 slices sandwich bread, torn into 1-inch pieces
2 cups low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth
salt and pepper
1 chopped scallion

Directions:

Heat 2 tablespoons of oil in a large stock pot over medium heat until simmering. Add onion, garlic, and red pepper flakes and cook until onion is softened, about 5 minutes.

Stir in the tomatoes with their juice. Stir in sugar, bread bring to a simmer and cook until the bread begins to dissolve, about 5 minutes.

Puree the soup with remaining 2 tablespoons olive oil in a blender, in batches, until smooth. Return the soup to a clean pot, stir in the broth, and cook over medium-low heat until the soup is hot. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Notes:

Don’t overfill your blender, only go about 2/3 of the way and blend in 3 batches
Use an immersion blender if you have one
A bay leaf will add lots of flavor, just fish it out before pureeing– I just didn’t have one
Freeze the soup for up to one month– just thaw and reheat over low heat
Pasta or rice are great add-ins to tomato soup

This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Healthy Living, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Soup’s Back On!

  1. Pingback: Mystery Foods… | 3rdfloorbakes's Blog

Leave a Reply

