The Butternut Squash War

There may not have been any wars started over butternut squash, but that gourd and I had it out tonight. For our weekly potluck dinner I decided to make a nutritious pureed butternut squash. I had fond memories of the last time I worked with it, and wanted to use it again.

The squash, however, had other plans. Instead of peeling a whole squash I find it easier to cut it in half, roast it, and then scoop out the insides. Easy. Done. The only problem is that cutting a butternut squash in half is not always so simple– at least not this squash. Instead of in half, this guy wound up getting one third cut. This would not do for me. I wanted an even cooking time without any hassles. So I decided to cut the larger portion again. The result was this:

Okay, it doesn’t look like a complete disaster, but there’s more. After roasting for over thirty minutes it was time to bring out the veggie and blend it up. I placed the pieces on a cutting board, cut away the skin, and cut the flesh into cubes. I blended them, but they were just too thick. I took a peek in and was ambushed. All kinds of orange goo came flying at me. It was in my hair and on my face. The fight was on.

I got mad. I said “the hell with flavor!” and added water to make it blend well. It did. I won. The blended mess was put into a bowl ready for the drive to potluck. But the butternut squash had the last word. A silent soldier was left behind. A renegade. Or at least that’s what it thought. It was quickly consumed.

End war.

Pureed Butternut Squash:
Makes 6-8 servings

1 medium butternut squash, halved
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 350. Slice both top and bottom of butternut squash. Stand squash up with the larger part closest to counter. With a sharp knife carefully cut down the middle. Scoop out seeds. Spread olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic over orange, flesh side of squash. Place flesh side down on baking sheet. Cook 30-45 minutes, or until fork tender. Remove from oven and let cool 5 minutes. Scoop out flesh and place in blender. Blend until smooth. If squash is too tough to blend add 2 tablespoons of water or broth to loosen it. Serve warm.

This website helped refresh my memory on how to cook squash:
Pioneer Woman

This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Healthy Living, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

