Graham Cracker Bake-off

Many people only have graham crackers for s’mores or premade crusts for pies. I happen to love graham crackers as a sweet treat. Topped with chocolate, nutella, or peanut butter, they make a perfect, satisfying treat without the guilt that cookies offer.

Today I decided to make graham crackers, but also to try two different recipes. I used aMartha Stewart recipe and and Alton Brown recipe.

I have done a bakeoff before, and I used the same Alton Brown recipe, but I must have baked Smitten Kitchen recipe. If that’s true then those tasted more like Golden Grahams than the mealy texture that Alton Brown had. Both were fantastic, just very different.

This time, the ingredients between Martha and Alton were identical. There were some differences in flours, sweeteners and liquids. Alton used graham flour, molasses, and milk. Martha used whole wheat flour, wheat germ, and honey. The texture of both cookies are similar, but the sweeteners make for very different tastes.

The Martha recipe allows the butter to have a more distinctive flavor with eight tablespoons, whereas the AB recipe only called for six tablespoons. The molasses is where his cookies get much of the flavor.

So once again, the decision is difficult to make, but my decision goes to the Martha recipe. I think that the AB recipe has a flavor that is off. Maybe it is the vanilla or graham flour, but there is something that leaves a taste that doesn’t translate well.

For the Martha recipe check out Martha Stewart.com.


Martha Stewart graham crackers


Martha Stewart animal shaped graham crackers


Alton Brown

AB on left, Martha on right

This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Graham Cracker Bake-off

  1. Christina says:

    I have never tried to make my own graham crackers before…excellent idea! These look great, I will have to give them a try! Thanks! 🙂

  2. Thanks! The AB recipe says to bake them for 20-25 minutes, but I only did for about 10. That was a mistake because they came out chewy, not crunchy. Now, they are good and almost gingerbread man-like, but not the crunch of graham cracker that we have come to know and love. So my advice is to follow the directions and not go out on a limb like I did.

Leave a Reply

