Ice Fishing, Bagels, and Grilled Cheese

For nearly three years I have heard stories of how awesome it is to go ice fishing. There’s a hole in the ice, a few chairs, and lots of beer. Nothing could be better. And for three years I have not gone. This year I made it my mission to get to the lake in New Hampshire and get myself ice fishing.

Well, the wait was worth it. There were a few holes in the ice, an overabundance of beer, and an unexpected visitor– the wind. It was so windy on the lake that I was certain my big toe was going to fall off. I heard some other visitors complaining that they had lost feeling in their bums. The wind was vicious, the fish weren’t biting, but the beer was certainly cold.

To prepare for a day of frostbite and fish bites, Doug whipped up a batch of bagels. They were chewy on the outside and fluffy on the inside– just the way I like them.

I only lasted about an hour on the ice. My lack of preparation and desire to have a Sex and the City viewing with the other girls in the camp made my desire to sit in the cold just to sit in the cold waned.

To replenish all of those calories used fishing, Doug and I made sure to have a soul-quenching dinner– grilled cheese sandwiches. If you look closely, they look like regular sammies, but on the inside is a savory surprise.

I had heard of these grilled cheeses before. Where a restaurant puts crazy items inside of grilled cheese. Tonight was the perfect night to try it. If you haven’t figured it out yet, a pierogi was nestled between two slices of cheese.

This comfort food surely did not disappoint.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ice Fishing, Bagels, and Grilled Cheese

  1. Christina says:

    Looks like you guys had a great day! That is awesome that you could make it an hour on the ice…I am pretty sure I would have lasted about 10 minutes! Hahaha! 🙂

  2. I absolutely love grilled cheese, but have never heard of a pierogi in the center! I want to try this…definitely a fantastic comfort food 🙂 And I think I’m a warm-weather girl at heart…Sex and the City sounds much better than ice fishing to me!

Leave a Reply

