Lentil Salad that Rocks

To thank me for taking care of him during his tooth extraction recovery, Doug took me out for a nice night out in Portsmouth, NH. Now, the trip started off good with a caramel iced latte, a trip to the giant kitchen store and a couple new shirts for me. Then it took an unhappy turn when my car battery drained. My brand new car battery. The culprit– I left my lights on. How long did AAA take to get to us and jump start? An hour and a half.

Luckily, there was some good brews waiting for us at the Portsmouth Brewery. Doug had a gigantic sampler while I stuck to Smuttynose Star Island that was on tap. When going out for dinner it is always a good idea to try something that you can’t get at any old restaurant. To pair my burger I got lentil salad instead of the usual french fries.

This salad was completely unexpected. It was more like a cole slaw with a vinegar brine. Tiny bits of cauliflower and carrots accompanied the little legumes.

So of course I had to try the recipe. I think that I came close, and Doug says I made it better than the Brewery. I’m not sure about that, but I’d like to think that this is a pretty darn good recipe.

Cauliflower-Lentil Salad
serves 6

1 1/4 cups lentils, uncooked
3 cups water
2 cauliflower florets, broken into small pieces
1/4 red onion, chopped
salt and pepper to taste
1/4 cup canola oil
3/4 cup white wine vinegar
1/2 tablespoon honey
1 tablespoon dijon mustard

Cook lentils according to package directions (boil 3 cups water, add lentils and simmer for 20 mins.). Let cool. Transfer to large bowl, add cauliflower and red onion. Whisk oil, vinegar, honey, and mustard in small bowl. Add to lentil mixture. Chill 2 hours before serving or overnight. Better the next day.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lentil Salad that Rocks

  1. Christina says:

    Oh man, that is terrible that your battery died…what a way to ruin a night! At least the night ended well! πŸ™‚ This lentil salad looks really delicious too! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

