The Forty Day Project

Today Doug asked me what I was going to give up for Lent. This was an odd question coming from someone who is 1.) a scientist and 2.) not a practicing Christian. I am not a practicing Catholic, however, I do like a good challenge so I took this question to heart. Going forty days without a vice or bad habit seems doable.

With that, I needed to think about what I could cut. I’ve already given up sugar in my morning coffee simply because I wanted to cut some sugar from my daily intake. Then there was the bad habit of biting my cuticles. That has been nixed for about a week (gotta have pretty fingers for my new bling). I don’t smoke, and I drink on occasion, so what could I do?

There are dietary vices. I could give up chocolate. Or candy. Dessert, yeah right. Beer? Hm. Meat? That doesn’t seem too challenging.

My ultimate choice has to be candy. I do eat quite a bit of candy. There always seems to be a jelly bean, cadbury egg, or bit o honey that passes through my lips.

I’m going to see how far I can extend this giving up candy, and see how long I can stay away from chocolate. I have a feeling this will be an epic fail (it’s obvious I’m around teenagers too much), and that I won’t be able to cut chocolate completely.

In case I do fall and have chocolate it will be the chocolate that does not include candy. This would include hot chocolate, cake, or ice cream. Hot chocolate seems to be the sweet I’d be most likely to turn to.

So here goes “The Forty Day Project”. Let’s see how long it will take before I give in to the doom of Easter baskets and the wonderful world of Cadbury.

What would you give up?

This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Forty Day Project

  1. your dear old dad says:

    give up chocolate? bite your tongue!

  2. Christina says:

    Good luck with giving up candy for Lent! 🙂

Leave a Reply

