What Gives Me a Kick

Lately I’ve been on a salad kick. I crave salad. I want it to breakfast, lunch and dinner. The fresh greens, light vinaigrette, sweet bell peppers, avocado and carrots call to me.

Eating salad isn’t unusual for me. I have several times a week for lunch, with dinner, and for dinner at least once a week. But this past week has been salad overdrive.

Pierogi salad Tuesday. Taco salad Wednesday. Pierogi salad Friday. Taco salad Saturday. See a trend?

Then there’s the cilantro kick I’m on. This sprouted on Wednesday with the cilantro vinaigrette that adorned the taco salad. It brings a bright, fresh flavor to the salad that is unexpected, but leaves me happy.

Now, some people may not like cilantro because they may find it to have a soapy taste. This may or may not be a genetic trait (I’ve read different things). However, I have been blessed to have taste buds that find the herb pleasing.

I have found cilantro so pleasing in fact, that I added that to my oats with a fried egg instead of the usual green onion. This variation was a winner. Once again, the freshness of the herb turned the oats from simply nutty to nutty and fresh. Light even.

Clearly another winner in my book.

Maybe she could go on a salad kick too.

This entry was posted in Healthy Living and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Gives Me a Kick

  1. Seth says:

    Love the salad kick! I’m trying to get there myself…

    Love the picture of Katie and recovery Doug! Does he have enough mesh shorts to make it through the week?

  2. Pingback: My Breakfast Addiction | 3rdfloorbakes's Blog

Leave a Reply

