My Breakfast Addiction

I’ve never understood people who don’t eat breakfast. We have heard time and time again that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, yet many people still don’t eat it.

Then there are the people who can wait hours and hours between waking up and eating breakfast. Who does that? Wake up at six and have breakfast at eight? It just doesn’t seem plausible.

Even this morning I had to have a handful of cereal to soothe the tightness in my hungry stomach before having a real breakfast.

And the people who just have a bowl of fruit for breakfast? Where are they? I’d like to meet this person that can have cantaloupe and strawberries and call it a meal. That seems blasphemous. Their stomach must be the size of a grape because there is no way a few pieces of fruit could hold me over until noon.

So here is one of my quintessential breakfasts: 10 grain cereal topped with a fried egg. There are carbs, protein, and herbs packing heat in this meal. That bowl of fruit that Miss Fancypants has for breakfast will be my side dish (though I usually don’t have fruit with my meal).

As an alternative to my stand by steel cut oats with an egg I made 10 grain cereal with added millet and a fried egg. Topped with green onion and cilantro this was another hit.

This entry was posted in Healthy Living and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

