Brownie Mix Healthified

Since March 9 I have not had any candy. That means no M&Ms, no candy from the bulk bin, no squirrel nut zippers or Cadbury mini eggs. Nothing that is found in the candy aisle has passed my lips. Well, except for the M&Ms in cookies. That doesn’t count. You can’t find M&M cookies in the candy aisle.

Chocolate covered ginger does not count as candy. Nor do chocolate morsels. I’m not sure why, but they don’t.

This past week, though, I have had coconut cake, chocolate chip cookies, a sangria (yeah, I count that as a dessert), and M&M cookies. In my effort to curb candy cravings, I have supplemented my sweet tooth with an abundance of baked goods. Coconut cake and chocolate chip cookies look great in a wedding dress, right?

Last night was no exception.

I bought a box of brownie mix from the reduced rack at the grocery store. I mean, really, who can pass up a box of brownie mix for fifty cents? The reduced rack summons me.

It calls to me and says, “Just because I’m accidentally cut open doesn’t mean I’m no good. You can make all kinds of treats with this box of brownies. Fifty cents. That’s just half a dollar. Do it”.

Okay, I may have a problem.

I did try to “healthify” the mix though. I subsituted 2/3 cup of oil for 1/3 cup of Sunsweet Lighter Bake and I also added about 1/4 cup of sour cream to add moisture.

The brownies are dense, moist and fudgy. They definitely hit the spot last night!

“Healthified” Brownies

1 box of your favorite brownie mix
2 eggs
1/3 cup Sunsweet Lighter Bake
1/4 cup sour cream
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup chocolate morsels

Preheat oven as directed for pan size. Grease pan with cooking spray. Mix all ingredients in a large bowl until dry mix is absorbed. Add to pan and cook as directed for pan size. Let brownies cool for 30 minutes then cut and eat.

This entry was posted in Fun Stuff, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

